Summer Reading Blog Hop!

What is a blog hop? A blog hop is where a group of authors get together and post on each others’ blogs. The purpose is to introduce readers to great new summer reads!

Last October, LAS Books released Ghosts of the Mid-Atlantic, Volume I by paranormal author Lisa A. Sullivan. This quick summer read is a perfect beach take-along. Its ten tales about spooky haunts will leave you wondering, What if? Plus, you’ll learn a lot of interesting facts about people and places in this one little book. Ghosts of the Mid-Atlantic, Volume I is available both in paperback and as a Kindle eBook at Amazon.com at a price that won’t bust your vacation budget.

Now, on to the blog hop fun topic with author Lisa A. Sullivan!

1. When writing, are you a snacker? If so, sweet or salty?

I’m more a coffee-drinker than a foodie when I write. Coffee is the kind of drink that warms up my muse and gets me in that fluid writing zone.

However, if I were to snack while writing, it would be something salty like Goldfish crackers, tortilla chips, or brains.

2. Are you an outliner or someone who flies by the seat of their pants? Are they real pants or jammies?

I used to be an outliner named The Spreadsheet Queen, but recently I morphed into the carefree, internal-editor-slaying Pants Princess.

When my second daughter was born a few months ago, I downloaded the Google Drive app and “pantsed” a zombie novel on my smartphone during her three a.m. feedings. I guess that’s the kind of book one writes as a zombie-mommy of a newborn.

I drafted a complete novel this way. So, now pantsing is my mode. Rationale? If I can be that productive with a newborn in tow, I’m all into my pants. (Er…)

Also, I prefer to wear ragged pirate trousers when I write, making me a Pantser Pirate Princess: three words you never thought you’d see put together.

WAIT! REVELATION! It’s not a virus that infects us and makes us zombies (unless you count that viral Grumpy Cat video montage I ate up with pathetic glee last week); it’s NEWBORNS! Lucky for them, they’re adorable, aww…

3. When cooking or baking, do you follow the recipe exactly or wing it?

What’s this “cooking or baking” you speak of? Brains taste best raw like steak tartare.

4. What is next for you after this book?

Promoting it. Ghosts of the Mid-Atlantic Magazine is still in production, and my Volume II book collection is 70% complete. Volume II will be released in October, 2013.

I am also about 40% finished with a collection of paranormal flash fictions which will also be released later this year. Mwa ha ha.

And then there’s that zombie novel…

5. Last Question…on a level of one being slightly naughty to ten being whoo whoo steamy, where does your book land?

A 0.5.

Question: Anyone else think “whoo whoo steamy” is the sound a lusty train whistle makes?

Now, here’s a great recipe for…

Brains! On All Hallow’s Eve, gather the family around the hearth to pop some popcorn. Pick out all the popcorn pieces that look like little brains and eat the rest. Next, using needle and thread, poke your brains with the needle then thread them onto a string. Hang your brains up on your mantel like a garland. Overnight, while all the little children are fast asleep dreaming of the survival of the human race, jolly old Zanta Yargh will stumble down your grimy chimney and eat the popcorn brains instead of yours. Halloween and humankind are saved once more!

For more summer read ideas, check out this awesome author:
La-Tessa Montgomery

This entry was posted on July 9, 2013. Bookmark the permalink.